Becoming de-institutionalised

I’ve always blogged for other people. More specifically, I only ever blogged for organisations where I worked. I wrote about museum work I loved, so I never felt the need to have my own blog. In the last six months my life has been turned on its head. I handed in my notice at my job in Edinburgh, packed our stuff into a shipping container and moved to Adelaide, Australia. Why the big change? For the same reason as so many other people I’m meeting here. My partner got offered his dream job. We’ve spent a few months settling in and now it’s time for me to get back to writing. I’m excited about the opportunity to write outside of an institutional setting.

Map to Adelaide

I’ve always seen myself as a career-girl. As all museum curators know; you have to work damn hard to get into the sector; let alone get a good job that pays above minimum wage. So why give up the job I worked so many years to get? I guess sometimes you just have to go with your gut and take a risk.

Sometimes I worry about being seen as the girl who followed her man. Is it possible in today’s modern world for both partners in a relationship to have successful careers in the cultural sector? Are you always going to have to make some tough decisions and sacrifices? Maybe some of you wise owls out there have some sage advice to share?

Bye for now… 

Sign off

 

 

 

 

Bloglovin widget

6 thoughts on “Becoming de-institutionalised

  1. ceejane says:

    Hi Amy, I just found your blog via TheDaintySquid and just wanted to say how much I’ve enjoyed reading what you’ve done so far. I’m excited to check out the lace exhibition when I visit Adelaide for the Fashion Icons exhibition!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amy Dale says:

      Hi ceejane, thanks so much for your lovely comment. Do you visit Adelaide regularly? I’m really excited about the upcoming Fashion Icons exhibition too! Once you’ve seen the lace exhibition, do pop back and leave a comment about what you thought if you have time. I’d love to hear what other people think.

      Like

      • ceejane says:

        I’ve actually never been to South Australia before, I’m making a special trip for the exhibition (probably in January) hopefully I’ll be going to Gaultier at the NGV in the same trip

        Like

      • Amy Dale says:

        That’s dedication, I’m impressed! I’m going to be blogging about more cool things to do in South Australia, so you might be interested in that. I didn’t know about the Gaultier exhibition at NGV. Is that on tour from somewhere else? I visited NGV earlier this year, thought it was a great.

        Like

  2. ceejane says:

    Sounds great, I’ll be keeping an eye out!

    I do a fair bit of travelling for exhibitions (mainly fashion ones) NGV have a few per year but usually from their own collection. Strangely enough, the Bendigo art gallery are getting a name for hosting travelling fashion exhibitions, often from the V&A: they’ve got one on lingerie starting next month.

    Like

    • Amy Dale says:

      I read about that lingerie one. Looks like a really good exhibition. I’m off to the V&A in July to see their wedding dresses exhibition. Can’t wait for that one!

      Like

Leave a Reply

